top of page

David Hyde Pierce To Host The 9th Annual BROADWAY SALUTES

The Broadway League and The Coalition of Broadway Unions and Guilds (COBUG) are pleased to announce that the ninth annual Broadway Salutes ceremony will take place on Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at Sardi’s Restaurant (234 West 44th St). The event will begin at 3 p.m. with arrivals and pinning, and the reception begins at 3:30 p.m.

This year’s ceremony will be hosted by Tony Award® winner David Hyde Pierce, who is currently starring in Hello, Dolly! on Broadway.

The program is directed by Marc Bruni. Julie Menin, Commissioner of the Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment will also attend.

In this industry-wide reception, theatre professionals will receive special recognition for having worked 25, 35 and 50+ years on Broadway for their valuable contributions to the business. Broadway Salutes honors actors, agents, attorneys, box office treasurers, casting directors, choreographers, composers, designers, directors, dressers, managers, musicians, orchestrators, producers, publicists, stagehands, stage managers, stylists, theatre owners, ticket sellers, ushers, writers, and many more theatre professionals who have dedicated their careers to the success of Broadway.

"It takes hundreds of gifted people working together, behind the scenes and onstage, to create and maintain the high quality of every show on Broadway. Once a year, Broadway Salutes gives us an opportunity to shine a spotlight on some of our most talented colleagues who have served our industry for many years,” said Robert E. Wankel, Chairman of the Broadway League.

“Broadway is a top tourist destination and supports 89,000 local jobs and contributes nearly $12.6 billion to the economy of New York City. Broadway Salutes enables us to thank those who are often unseen by the audience and deserve recognition for their tremendous talent and tireless work that creates the extraordinary and memorable experience of a Broadway production,” said Tony DePaulo (COBUG).

“Broadway is an iconic element of New York City’s culture, and it wouldn’t exist without the contributions of hardworking, behind-the-scenes professionals – many of whom have dedicated their lives to the theatrical craft,” said Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment Commissioner Julie Menin. “I congratulate all of the individuals being honored by Broadway Salutes today, and thank you for dedicating your time, skill and energy to the Broadway community.”

The Broadway Salutes committee is comprised of: Co-chairs Tony DePaulo (IATSE) and Mark Schweppe (Shubert Organization) and committee members Lawrence Paone (IATSE), Laura Penn (SDC), Hal Goldberg (Jujamcyn), Paige Price (AEA), Ryan Hanley (AEA) and Barbara Wolkoff (SDC), and Chris Brockmeyer (Broadway League).

Connie Wilkin and Jennifer O’Connor, of Foresight Events, are the production team.





To Advertise Your show on LocalTheatreUSA

You have several options...or contact Roger Gonzalez at 646-285-3033 or

bottom of page